G20 summit 2019: Trump meets leaders in Osaka

The class picture at the 2018 G20 Summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina.The class picture at the 2018 G20 Summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Daniel Jayo/Getty Images

The G20, or Group of 20, is an annual summit for world leaders, foreign ministers, and central bank governors.

It includes 19 countries and the European Union, and accounts for about 80% of the global gross domestic product. Around two-thirds of the world’s population live in a G20 country.

The first G20 summit was held in November 1975 in Rambouillet, France. It only included the world’s six largest economies — until Canada joined, forming the G7, which also holds annual summits.

Over the years, more countries grew and a larger forum became necessary — and so the G20 was created in 1999, for the world’s 20 largest economies.

The summits are a chance for world leaders to meet face-to-face, discuss pressing geopolitical issues, and strengthen or reaffirm relationships. Expect to see bilateral and trilateral meetings, talks on the sidelines, and the class photo — a summit tradition.

Here’s the full list of G20 members:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Republic of Korea (South Korea)
  • Republic of South Africa
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • European Union (EU)

This article originally appeared here